NTR District was newly proposed district is named as NTR District as a ark of respect and recognition of the of the stellar contribution of Sri Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao Garu, who officiated for 3 times as a Chief Minister of Combined Andhra Pradesh. NTR District with its district head quarters at Vijayawada formerly called as Bezawada.

It lies between 160 – 861 & 170 – 141 of the Northern latitude and 150 – 711 and 160 – 471 of eastern longitude which extends over an area of 3316 Sq. Kms. It was surrounded on the East by Eluru District, on South by Krishna on West by Guntur and Nalgonda Districts and on North by Khammam District.

The District is divided into 20 Mandals covering 3 Revenue Divisions viz., 1.Vijayawda 2. Nandigama 3. Tiruvuru. The District is naturally Upland Zone. The upland consists of an undulating broken by low ranges of Eastern Ghats. (The main sources of Irrigation in upland are tanks. It is being benefited by the water of Nargarjuna Sagar also The delta land is being irrigated by canals of river Krishna

The population of the District is 2218591 comprising of 305 inhabited and 16 uninhabited villages. There are 4 Municipalities viz., 1. Tiruvuru 2. Nandigama 3. Jaggayyapeta 4. Ibrahimpatnam and one Municipal Corporation in Vijayawada.